Breathe

Take a deep breath. Breathe in; hold it for a few seconds, than breathe out. It is so much more effective than you might think; it definitely opened my eyes when I got aware of it. On my first visit to a psychologist I was really nervous, to the point that I wanted to throw up. I told her this it the beginning of the session, and she told me to relax and just breathe for a while. Just take deep breaths in and out. After a little while I could feel my heartbeat sinking, and my body getting less tense.

I’ve been struggling with anxiety for almost as long as I can remember. When I was I little kid I remember lying awake in my bed with my eyes wide open, and I would never shut them, not until it happened automatically when I fell asleep. I was so terrified of the dark, thinking that someone or something was lurking in the shadows waiting to strike. As I got older I still couldn’t lie in my bed with my eyes shut, still in fear of the dark, but also all the bad things that could happen to me or the people that I loved, as well as other things.

It’s only a few years ago that I was able to shut my eyes, but the nights were always the worst for me. Even if I was able to close my eyes, I was still scared, and it progressed to panic attacks. On that first session with the psychologist she told me that I should focus on my breathing a lot more, and before I go to sleep take 10 deep breaths. I did that, and I actually went to sleep with a smile on my face and slept through the whole night. I’m not saying that everything can be solved with just breathing, I did a lot more work than that to be able to sleep better, but I’m saying it helps. It helps a lot. Not just for the nights, but every time you get stressed out, every time it all just gets too much.

Take a few deep breaths, and let your body relax.

Keep on living and fighting
Sincerely yours,
mpoHappiness

Quote of the day:
“Feelings come and go like clouds in a windy sky. Conscious breathing is my anchor.”

Song of the day:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g9xClTReb7I
(The song that I used to fall asleep to, when I couldn’t take the silence)

Leave a comment