Everything is connected

This is one of the first things I learned from my psychologist; everything is connected. Our brain is connected to our body in the same way our way of thinking is connected to how we feel. If you tell yourself you’re not good enough, your body feels it, and it actually makes you feel like you aren’t good enough. We need to be more careful about the thing we tell ourselves, because if it is just negative things then it will make us feel depressed.

I can use myself as an example; I always told myself what I did wrong, how I was useless and that I would never be pretty enough. I gave myself the impression that I wasn’t good enough, at anything, and that I never would be. And when I told myself these things every single day, I believed them and it made me feel horrible. The way I talked to myself was what kept my depression going for so long. It was never what actually caused it, but it kept it alive and made it more severe day by day.

My psychologist picked this up on my first visit there and told me how my thoughts affected me more then I realized, and how bad I actually treating myself. It took me awhile, but I managed to change the way I talked to myself. I tried to always tell myself that “I can do this” or “I look hot in this”, even if I didn’t really believe it. Because the more good things I told myself, the better I felt. This may sound obvious, but it is so much more important than I ever thought. You can’t really change what other people tell you, but you can change the things you tell yourself, and make sure that it’s all good things, because you owe it to yourself.

I have an exercise to prove this, which I learned from my awesome drama teacher. Stand up in a “T pose”, so with your arms straight out to the sides and get someone to press your arms down while you try to push them up towards the ceiling. While you do this tell yourself only bad things, and say it out loud. Do this for a little while, and then stop. Do it again, but this time tell yourself only good things, just give yourself a lot of compliments and again say it out loud.
When I did this I was so much stronger the second time, the more good things I told myself, the stronger I got.

Quote of the day:
“I know in my heart if you reach for the starts, all the things that you dream will indeed take you far”

Song of the day:
Keep holding on – Falling in reverse

Leave a comment